Zucchini Noodles

Image

A healthy alternative to pasta! I’ve seen zucchini noodles all over Instagram and Pinterest and I’ve been wanting to try them for a while now. Usually I’ve eaten zucchini as the conventional round slices, so I couldn’t really imagine how it would taste as a substitute for pasta.

Image

 

The ingredients you use for this dish besides the zucchini noodles is entirely up to you, based on what you usually enjoy eating your pasta dishes with. To turn the zucchinis into noodle form, I used my roommate’s slicer that has interchangeable blades with different widths for slicing sizes, including a noodle-like option.

Image

 

What I read from the Pinterest post is that it is important not to slice the zucchini close to the core where the seeds are because that part of the vegetable is more mushy which makes it difficult for it to keep the elongated noodle shape. The picture above is the amount of noodles that 2 zucchinis makes, but it really wasn’t very much. I probably could have used 4 zucchinis total and it would have been a decent sized dish.

To soften the zucchini noodles a bit, I brought a pot of water to a boil and flash cooked the noodles for about 40 seconds. In that span of time I did not have the time to snap a picture of the process, but I’m sure you can imagine what it looked like. I then just strained them and ran some cool water over them and they were done!

Image

 

I kept it simple and just topped the zucchini noodles off with pasta sauce, parmesan cheese, and a little bit of basil. They tasted so delicious! It didn’t seem like the dish was compromised at all just because the pasta noodles were not present. It felt a lot healthier to eat and I did not feel a heavy feeling of being overly full afterwards, like I usually do when I eat normal pasta dishes. Definitely try it out!

Here ya go:

http://empoweredsustenance.com/zucchini-noodles/

Leave a Reply

