Mug Cake

Image

 

This is great for when you’re craving a little fix of cake or sweetness! You literally just mix all of the in the ingredients in a mug and then pop it in the microwave!

Image

 

It looks like a lot of ingredients but it’s really just a few tablespoons of this and a few tablespoons of that, add a little dash of this, etc. The post I found on Pinterest showed a very basic and simple mug cake with items that you usually have in the fridge or cupboard. There are definitely more elaborate recipes, but this was a good one for me to start with since I’ve never made a mug cake before.

ImageImage

 

When the ingredients was all added and mixed up, it filled about half of the mug. I stuck it in the microwave for 2 minutes and it was done!

Image

 

The consistency was pretty dense and spongey, but it was moist. I think in the full time that it took to cook, the heaviest ingredients, the chocolate chips, sunk mostly to the bottom so what I found was the tastiest was taking a thin bite from the top to the bottom of the cake in order to get all of the flavors. The top of the cake alone was somewhat bland, but once I reached the bottom it was like gooey chocolate lava heaven. I just added the chocolate pretzel for decorative purposes, but really anything goes with these cakes! You can put frosting on top, whipped cream, fruit, powdered sugar, you name it! It had a very rich taste and was a big hit with the friends I chose to share it with 🙂

 

Here is the link to the Pinterest post I used:

Leave a Reply

